Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Marco Polo Review

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by boogieman, Feb 24, 2015.

  1. boogieman

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
  2. MadMitch88

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Apparently the RC version of this product is a lot better than the Pet Tracker version.

    I bought the Pet Tracker version and couldnt get it to work beyond 50 ft. range. The transceiver had the snub nose antenna. Your version has the high gain pigtail antenna and this seems to make a huge difference. Plus, with lighter weight and better battery, this is a superior tracker compared to the pet version.

    I already have a Flytrex Live 2G but I may have to reconsider buying this RC version as a backup locator. Flytrex Live works well but is dependent on the bird's battery and I've had problems with reliability in fringe coverage areas, which is increasing because 2G is being phased out in the USA. Marco Polo doesnt care about cell tower coverage.

    Obviously, the Marco Polo's biggest drawback is the 2 mile range (under optimal conditions). If you takeoff with a fresh battery, your Vision or Inspire can easily wind up in thick underbrush 6 or 7 miles away after a flyaway event, so therefore the Marco Polo won't help you much. That's where a combo of Flytrex Live or DroneMods and the Marco Polo could be the best way to find a lost bird in any circumstance.
     
    #2 MadMitch88, Feb 24, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2015
    turbodronepilot likes this.
  3. boogieman

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2

    It works really well with what all I have tested it and I have put it through lots of crazy tests just to see.
     
  4. MadMitch88

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Have you tried an urban area with lots of buildings around to block the signal? I'd like to see the max. range in that environment.
     
  5. boogieman

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2

    No I cannot do that I live in a very rural area. Sorry.
     
  6. DJeff1

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    34
    What do you consider rural in Tennessee?
     
  7. boogieman

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Where I live. Nearest city is hour away and that's Cleveland.