Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Nvidia shield question. .

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by turbodronepilot, Mar 9, 2015.

  1. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    Hey guys .
    do I need to have an Internet connection to get the maps to work?
    My map data is blank..
    Id appreciate it if someone gave me a few set up tips and general information about how to get the best out of my shield..
    I'd like to use it today ..is the new version of the pilot app good??(10 k downloads as of yesterday ..that's up about 5 k in two weeks)

    turbo. .
     
  2. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    The Nvidia Shield is great - I've had zero problems with it. Running all updated Lollipop.
    Assuming you do not have the 4G version, you have to cache the maps before you leave for your fly zone (the same as the iPad) or...... Fire up wifi on the Shield and use you phone as a hotspot in the field, load the maps up and then don't forget to airplane mode both devices before you fly !
    I turn brightness full up and disable sRGB preset and use native colour (it boosts the brightness of the screen a little more).
     
    sdjackaerial likes this.
  3. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    Thanks editor..
    do you mind explaining lollipop? ?
    I do have the 4 g model but haven't activated it..
    wonder if I can put a sim card from one of my trackers that has data usage and use it??
     
  4. worldsoutro

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
    Can you use your phone as a bluetooth hotspot?
     
  5. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    Can I do that for free? Never used blue tooth except for a hands free device and a patriot crawling spider..
    Not without giving Verizon 50 bucks a month for mobile hotspot. .
    I have an atnt go phone sim I'm trying to get working as we speak. .
    turbo. .
     
  6. worldsoutro

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

    Shame you should be able to use the data you pay for the way you want :/
     
    lrh111 likes this.
  7. sdjackaerial

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    84
    Same exact workflow here on my Shield. This tablet really rocks.
     
  8. crashburn

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    160
    Agree, and it also has native screen recorder, and you can save google maps for offline use instead of cacheing them.

    Enjoy life and be nice