Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Phantom 3 Standard with follow me, point of interest and waypoints...

Discussion in 'News' started by Adrian VC, Aug 5, 2015.

  1. Adrian VC

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
  2. Phatzo

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    829
    Likes Received:
    230
    Location:
    Hungary
    now that sucks... doesn't it... thank god the I1 is way lot better in wind and faster...
    come on DJI... what is with the firmware (latest) NOT working with SDK???
    please fix the issue and then release new stuff...
     
    Outta Control and Moleyb like this.
  3. Brian Martinez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    I haven't updated yet, what's going on with fw?
     
  4. Moleyb

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Falmouth, Cornwall, UK
    Just saw this on FB and was merrily watching the video thinking 'oh fair enough, looks quite good for an entry level model' then saw the automated flight modes and thought WTF. They better add these modes to the I1 (and P3) very very soon or I for one will be fuming.
     
  5. Arsh

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    South Florida
    On the page for the Phantom Std the automated flight features says coming soon.
     
  6. JoeyJoe

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    South Florida
    I feel better now lol. They have to wait like us. I know, very cynical.
     
    Arsh likes this.
  7. Moleyb

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Falmouth, Cornwall, UK
    I commented on their video on FB, got this response direct from the horse's mouth (or the marketing person who works on Wednesdays). There's light at the end of the tunnel. Guess we just have to carry on waiting...

    IMG_0843.PNG
     
  8. Kailash Naik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    3
    I think the waypoints and associated features have something to do with the Wifi connection between the mobile device and the controller. The Inspire 1 and Phantom 3 connect via a cable, whereas the older Phantom 2 Vision plus has had the waypoints feature for a long time now, which also connects via wifi, like this new Phantom 3 Standard.
     
  9. CaptainBadge

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    240
    DJI- Possibly in the Future
     
    550 Productions likes this.
  10. CaptainBadge

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    240
    BS. Third party developers are able to solve the issue so why can't DJI.
     
  11. Kailash Naik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes, eventually DJI too will, very soon. Since they already had the technology for the wifi solution, they made it available for the Phantom 3 Standard. The Lightbridge versions will follow soon.
     
  12. SultanGris

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    238
    the p3 only has a half mile range? i thought it was supposed to be the same as the inspire?
     
  13. Gary E

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Medford, Oregon
    The P3 Standard.
     
  14. Jeroen van Craaikamp

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Amstelveen
    P3 Standard is not using Lightbridge but an straight forward amplified WIFI signal. In EU strict laws apply with regards to 2.4 Ghz wifi data strength, hence 500 meter will the be max for the P3 Standard. In the USA the max distance will be greater.

    With regards to Waypoints and Follow me; As with the other DJI Drones, this feature will be "coming soon" for Phantom 3 Standard. The feature will likely be offered by the DJI GO app. The only difference that i expect for each drone type is the number of waypoints for Inspire will be greater than for Phantom.

    If you can't wait for DJI, temporarily go for Autopilot 2.0 App; it offers Orbit (ie. IOC-POI) and Follow-me and works with the recent 1.3 Firmware (see: http://autoflightlogic.com/beta/autopilotdji)
     
    SultanGris likes this.
  15. SultanGris

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    238
    Ok thanks. Didn't even occur to me they would go back to that crappy wifi setup, avoid at all costs, lol
     
  16. Mopar Bob

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    The P3 standard is a repackaged P2 from what I see. Same crappy WiFi connection for video. Sounds like DJI is using it to get rid of inventory of P2 parts. At least that's my opinion.
     
  17. Gary E

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Medford, Oregon
    It has been posted previously, that the P3S is completely redesigned inside, and is not P2 parts. It is offered as an entry level machine.
     
  18. thedak

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    F the Standard..... I'm out
     
  19. Gary E

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Medford, Oregon
    Step up to the Avanced or Pro models. They have something for everybody