Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Possibility of Flyaway

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by Skyline, Mar 25, 2015.

  1. Skyline

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    13
    Hi everyone, I just received my Inspire today, Im really happy. I did couple research threads that people got issues of flyaway. I really want to put her up in the air but what is the chances of flyaway? will DJI replace me a new one if I got a proof?

    P.S new firmware update, all compass & IMU calibration. I just want to make sure before I fly this beast without worry of her leaving me

    LG G3
     
  2. johnmont250

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    100
    congradulations, be ready to fly in atti mode should you lose gps in the first few minutes.
     
  3. Skyline

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    13
    i will try practice in atti mode to get better skill at it

    LG G3
     
  4. Acidsnow

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    7
    mine has never lost GPS, I've had about 12 flights so far . . .
     
  5. Ian Fraser

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    53
    I have had 2 fly aways first I got back under control the second a tree ended its flight.

    Before you fly do all the pre-flight calibrations make sure you see GPS safe to Fly. Lift off and hover at around 1m and do control checks spend at least 2 minutes doing this.

    Tomorrow will be the maiden flight for my second Inspire 1 (replacement for the fly away victim) I will be doing the above for every flight from now on.
     
    sirnikolas likes this.
  6. Skyline

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    13
    thanks for all great input. I will make sure all everything before do my maiden flight

    LG G3
     
  7. Outta Control

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Right Above You
    Mine is on its way. Once it gets here I plan on the following to make sure all is running right. So here are my suggestions.

    #1. Install a redundant tracking system.

    #2. Make sure to load a DVR aka Shou App on your tablet to record any communication/information anomalies between craft and remote.

    #3. I would do an external recording ie. iPhone/DSLR of the first few flight for records.

    #4. Create your own pre and post-flight checklist. There are some great ones online but you may want to add some of your own.

    #5. Lastly, baby steps. I would do the simulator to figure out which Mode and personal setting needed before actual flight. It would take me possibly a week before actual flight is done in a controlled environment.

    I am sure other would like to chime in but this is what I would recommend.


    Oh another thing. Balance those props.
     
    #7 Outta Control, Mar 25, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2015
  8. Skyline

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    13
    nice info thanks

    LG G3
     
  9. Ian Fraser

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    53
    I will enable screen recording on my NVIDIA Sheild for every flight.
     
    Outta Control likes this.
  10. Outta Control

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Right Above You
    I would always record as you could possibly use it as a flight log.
     
  11. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    I feel sorry for new owners. It must feel like you're walking on egg shells when you're about to take off. Especially after reading all the bug issues.
     
    johnmont250 likes this.
  12. Outta Control

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Right Above You
    Well it is always a proper etiquette to be anal when you spend a lot of $$$ and just to lose it.
     
  13. White Airwolf

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    70
    Balancing of the Inspire props is not necessary. Only the Phantom 1 was that needed.
     
  14. Outta Control

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Right Above You
    Did I mention I was anal. LOL :D
     
  15. lesn8r

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Hampshire, USA
    Hi all,

    I'm researching the inspire 1 and I'm reading these posts regarding fly away issues. If the bird takes off, can you put in a manual mode and fly it yourself ?
     
  16. Tahoejmfc

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    46
    You might run into feed delay if you do this. The DJI pilot app takes a lot of power and you shouldn't be running any other apps while flying
     
  17. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    Shou on the air 2 doesn't create any issues when screen recording. I never fly without recording the screen.
     
  18. Brwilkins

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I took mine out of the case, charged it, flew it, and repeated that a bunch of times. It did not fly anywhere that I didn't ask it to go. I did, however, attach a Marco Polo tracker, just in case. YMMV.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
     
  19. Mazz

    Mazz Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    585
    Location:
    NY
    I have had sixty something flights and mine as never just flown away. I get the compass error a lot but after a few minutes it settles and goes away. This just forces you to go into atti mode which is not much of a fly away situation as much as it is a loss of gps help. Any wind or momentum will send your quad flying but it can always be stopped and brought back. Usually the errors we have seen are more with return to home sending it in a weird direction or low and fast. These are being tested for the next firmware update as we speak.
     
    johnmont250 likes this.
  20. gruvpix

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    337
    Yea my unit seems pretty solid so I just give er, sometimes I have to switch to atti but it's no dire situation. Most annoying thing is when my signal gets lost, which happens a touch more often than I'd like... Also the bird sketches out if I take off and accelerate too fast at first, but I never worry about it flying away or falling out of the sky.