Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Stuck in travel mode :: Firmware issue

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Djackpot, Aug 20, 2016.

  1. Djackpot

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can't get my inspire 1 to exit travel mode because I updated the controller first (I know, I know - seems retarded that this can screw your machine up so bad though). I tried rolling back to 1.6 and 1.58 with no luck. Any suggestions? or should I just toss this thing in the trash.
     
  2. Mad_angler1

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    159
    why cant you roll back the RC firmware ? whats the problem ?
     
  3. Djackpot

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can roll back, but when I do the remote doesn't connect to the aircraft, so I can't exit travel mode
     
  4. Mad_angler1

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    159
    What are you rolling back to ? It need to be V1.580 if the craft is on FW before v1.8

    What colour is the RC led in both FW and the craft tail light ?
     
  5. Djackpot

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I tried 1.580 and I couldn't get it to connect to the drone - not sure what Fw is sorry - the tail light is blue
     
  6. Mad_angler1

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    159
    What FW does it appear to connect to the craft in ?

    Try slightly turning the manual screw to adjust the main mech that does the legs it may have jammed, see the manual on how to do this, just turn it either way a little to settle it and it may release but you will need to be on the FW that connects to the craft.

    It's located underneath the gimbal plate in the bottom and in the box it the tool to do it.
     
  7. Djackpot

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's not though it's stuck - the controller will not connect to the aircraft when rolled back
     
    #7 Djackpot, Aug 21, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2016
  8. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    728
    Just update everything to the latest version?
     
  9. Djackpot

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    It won't let you update the drone if it's in travel mode, which is ridiculous in my opinion.
     
  10. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    728
    Is that new? Many people did the same mistake before you and have always been able to update.
     
  11. Djackpot

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm not sure as I never had an issue before
     
  12. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    728
    Then try to update the machine, it will likely work fine.
     
  13. Djackpot

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did - no go
     
  14. SKY pics WA

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    FREMANTLE WA
    I did the same thing! Just roll back to last working firmware on both devices and the relink your controller I had the blue light as well. It's just software. Then update the bird then controller and relink again if needed
     
  15. Tcecil

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Had exact same problem with abrand new Inspire V2--would not go out of travel mode--after 3 different days spending 2 hours on the phone
    Ended up sending it back for an exchange--
     
  16. jaymiejame

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    it might be the power board, near the battery, changed one this week and it solved the problem
     
  17. Steve Spain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    I just had this issue. Sent my craft in for repair and it was returned in travel mode with a different OS version than my controller. The AC won't update the OS in the travel mode. After 2 hours on the phone with DJI trying all the options, I was given an RMA to send the AC and RC to DJI to be paired and returned. Cost me another $90 on top of the AC repair!
     
  18. Tcecil

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    same exact issue---still haven't gotten mine back--DJI..
     
  19. Supercaliber

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Westchester County, NY.
    Great..I'm having the exact same issue..This REALLY sucks..Is there any fix I can try before calling DJI?..I'll never buy this brand ever again..daily nightmares.
     
  20. Tcecil

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2

    did you try going to another internet access point?--some internet providers dont like china...