Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Sudden gimbal jerking movement

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Help' started by PetePerrim, Feb 3, 2015.

  1. PetePerrim

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Hi All,

    Just wondered if any of you had experienced a sudden and uncontrolled jerking movement in your gimbals? Mine seems to do it with each flight and it is spoiling my videos. It is very fast and usually twitches left suddenly before correcting itself immediately. See video below. Also, this video shows a flight I made last night of over 2500 metres!!

     
    sdjackaerial likes this.
  2. dronie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Copenhagen - Denmark
    It sounds like DJI was aware of the gimbal twitch issue (it was one of the reasons for the delayed shipping, along with the camera issues with "hot pixels", according to a few large dealers I talked to), but DJI chose to neglect these issues, and shipped a faulty $3.000 product using the customers as beta testers. DJI probably thought: "lets ship it, and make a "DNG Cleaner" later and just swap faulty gimbals if people complain".

    I've seen a LOT of people with this gimbal issue.

    I have been able to reproduce the issue also, but it ONLY happens in the highest 4K setting (4096x2160). I bet that if you choose the lower 4K setting (3840x2196) you won't see this issue? So basically, DJI sent us a Gimbal that doesn't work as promised.

    Let us know if your twitches disappears in the lower 4K setting?
     
  3. InspiredOne

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    South Florida, USA
    Yes, I've had this problem, too. DJI asked for footage, but it hasn't does it since I install the iOS Pilot app 1.0... yet. ;)
     
    lrwskyfilms likes this.
  4. helipal

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just received new inspire last week and have had this gimbal twitch a few times when recording 1080P 60/s. Seems to happen ofter at first, then calms down after 2-3 minutes. EMU is up to date and do a new compass call before flights away from vehicles / cell phones
     
  5. davidbarwin

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Centennial, Colorado USA
    Much to my chagrin PetePerrim I too am experiencing this issue. Will reach out to support and share anything I learn…..

    Problem displays at :25, :27, :29, :38, 1:35, 1:39, 1:40, 1:41, 1:47, 1:50, 1:51, 1:59, 2:00, 2:01, 2:07, 2:10. Thoughts? Flight log available…….

     
  6. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    3,887
    Known problem.... Will be fixed in the next FW update.
     
    davidbarwin likes this.
  7. davidbarwin

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Centennial, Colorado USA
    I did fly successfully yesterday without the Gimbal issue so apparently it is intermittent as some have mentioned.
     
  8. dronie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Copenhagen - Denmark
    I get both "hot pixels" (only in DNG's) and the gimbal twitch (only in the highest 4K setting).

    So, do you recommend that I don't send in my camera/gimbal for replacement if I can wait for an update?
     
  9. PetePerrim

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Hi David,

    Mine still does it intermittently which makes it unreliable for shooting video until the new FW but it's still ok for stills. I've grounded mine for the time being, until the new FW is released, it's had a couple of funky compass issues lately which make me nervous.
     
    sirebral and davidbarwin like this.
  10. davidbarwin

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Centennial, Colorado USA
    I understand the "nervous" part for sure. I have a paying gig tomorrow and am taking the Inspire but will also have the Phantom V+ as a back-up just incase. Will feel much better once we have new FW. -David
     
  11. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    3,887
    Just shoot in 1080 mode and it will not do it - The client will not need 4k (doubt they will even know what 4k is !!!)
     
    davidbarwin likes this.
  12. PetePerrim

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    I ONLY shoot in 1080 and it still does twitch a bit.
     
  13. sdjackaerial

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    84
    Ya, I get the twitch too often, and it's ruining nice shots. Bringing me down, man.
    How do we know it's going to be fixed in "the next firmware update"? Can I please be in that inner loop who get's that info too? LOL
     
  14. sdjackaerial

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    84
    I gotta say, man--your flight is AMAZING. Killer stuff, man..you got some balls flying that far.
     
  15. Abe

    Abe

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    I too am experiencing the gimbal twitch problem every time I fly. It's spoiled a lot of good video, unfortunately. I've started to notice a pattern. On my flights it nearly always happens early in the flight, generally in the first two minutes. But I've also found that it can happen anytime, even later in the flight, when I make fast, sharp turns with the aircraft. It almost always has one violent twitch, throwing the horizon way off, and then one or two less violent ones before the gimbal settles back down. I truly hope it is fixable in firmware, or even through a field-replaceable part that we can perform ourselves.
     
  16. davidbarwin

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Centennial, Colorado USA
    Flawless shoot this morning in Boulder @ 1080 60. Regardless of the issue I hope its truly fixed in the new FW update.
     
  17. InspiredOne

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    South Florida, USA
    I haven't had any camera twitch for the past few days, knock on wood!