Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Aircraft Firmware Update

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by JRenner, Jul 25, 2015.

  1. JRenner

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Hi all, just managed to buy my third Inspire 1 (for professional use!!), and it seems I can't update my firmware on the aircraft. When viewed via the app, I get a warning that states 'Aircraft Upgrade Error' - what exactly am I doing wrong? I haven't had this problem before with my previous I1s.

    A brief walkthrough of the problem;

    1. 32 GB (C10) Lexar SD Card - formatted FAT and uploaded new firmware update .bin file into it.
    2. Inserted into gimbal mount camera slot.
    3. Boot up I1s battery, camera goes through slight calibration and then starts the update sequence - a couple beeps and then a rapidly blinking yellow light emitting via the rear. This continues for quite some time, with noises comparable to an old optical drive with scratchy CD/ DVD inside.
    4. I eventually have to turn the drone off manually - checking the SD card txt. file on my computer, with the stats 'Aircraft Update Failed, Please reboot and install firmware again'.
    5. This is driving me nuts, please, anyone out there lend me a hand or two!!

    Much appreciated,
    Hans
     
  2. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    Hey Hans! !
    Welcome to inspirepilots.com. ...
    I'll take a shot at it...
    I think you have plenty of experience from your previous i1's so I'm sure it's not something you're doing incorrectly. .
    I'm also guessing this is a used I1 ,but maybe not...
    anyway I haven't heard a fix for this scenario so I'll tell you what I'd try..
    seems like a good idea to check the connection between the gimble and ac anytime a weird error message is generated. .
    look for damaged pins and make sure it's seated properly.
    I'd make sure and erase your SD card and maybe try another one..
    then I'd reinstall the root file to the SD card..
    Then I'd use a fresh battery that's fully charged ..
    after the i1 completely cools down I'd try again...
    hopefully it will work..
    let us know how it works out!!
    Turbo. ...
     
    JRenner likes this.
  3. skylabimaging

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Is your battery 100% charged?

    That's the only thing I could think of that people have had this issue with
     
  4. JRenner

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Hey Turbo,

    Thanks for welcome and the quick reply! I've checked the cable connector just above the gimbal attachment - everything is seated properly and the pins look to be in fine condition (brand new I1 by the way).

    At the moment, the I1 is blinking yellow rapidly and has been doing so for the past 20 minutes or so. This is probably the 5th time it's done so. I've talked to DJI support, but they're not very helpful in this regard.

    Could it be a faulty gimbal system?

    Thanks for the help,
    Hans
     
  5. JRenner

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    @Skylab

    Yup, full charge in the battery!
     
  6. skylabimaging

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Short of checking the gimbal pins and maybe just letting it do it's thing maybe it will work.

    If I was in your shoes, I'd call my dealer and tell them I want an exchange for a new one, let them deal with DJI and their repair process
     
    Eric, turbodronepilot and JRenner like this.
  7. JRenner

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Yea, I'll let it run for a while more and see if anything happens.

    Will check with my dealer tomorrow! Thanks for all the info, much appreciated!
     
  8. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    You could try using a different gimble from one of your other i1's to eliminate the camera /gimble. .
    definitely call your dealer and ask for a replacement if you can't get it sorted out ..
     
  9. JRenner

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Damn, good thought....Havent had my coffee fix yet, brain is operating a sub-par levels..
     
    turbodronepilot likes this.
  10. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    If it's not going bbbb bbbb there's an issue so no need to wait for it to work out...just start over...
    make sure the sd card is installed correctly and seated all the way in..
     
  11. JRenner

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    So manually power off the battery, and then switch it back on again and hope for the best?
     
  12. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    If your i1 isn't going bbbb bbbb after a minute or two then yes manually turn it off ...make an adjustment then try again ..
     
  13. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    Is it possible you're not extracting only the root file to the SD card??
    I had that issue before. ..the latest firmware requires you to ditch the instructions and load the root to the SD card...
     
    kirtc likes this.
  14. dreadwing

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    Texas
    Have you tried using a different SD card. I always use the 16GB card that came with the i1?
     
    turbodronepilot likes this.
  15. JRenner

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
  16. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
  17. JRenner

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Nope, its 5am here in Indonesia, and the other drones are all at the office - about 3 hours away..
     
  18. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    Ya man...
    I'm leaning to a bad camera at this point.
    It doesn't seem to want to take the update and it does sound funny. .
    That's what I believe the quick flashing yellow light means..
    I'm not sure what your return policies are where you're at but here they have shortened it down to 7 days in many cases..
    it wouldn't be hard to check ..just switch the cameras when you can and then you'll know..
    let us know what you find out..
    good luck man!!!
    Turb....
     
  19. JRenner

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Yea, figured as much haha.

    Thanks for all your input though, I'll update when I've figured it out!

    Hans
     
    turbodronepilot likes this.
  20. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    571
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    A fast flashing yellow tail light only indicates that the aircraft has lost signal from the RC.
     
    JRenner and turbodronepilot like this.