Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Follow Me (Autopilot) tested on the Inspire 1 - Alkimos shipwreck, Western Australia

Discussion in 'Photos and Videos' started by Lofty Visions, Oct 7, 2015.

  1. Lofty Visions

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    If anyone was wondering how well Follow Me works on the Inspire via Autopilot, let me say it works perfectly. I had a blast changing the radius distance and follow position (front/back side etc) on the fly. A fantastic tool indeed. I tested it on the way to flying the Inspire over the Alkimos shipwreck north of Perth.




    I wish Vimeo would play catchup and support 60fps :rolleyes:
     
    #1 Lofty Visions, Oct 7, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2016
  2. Reece Robinson

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks great. Do we expect DJI to release this for the inspire soon?
     
  3. Aviator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Loved that!
    Stunning part of the world I must say.
    Good Job, Well Done
     
  4. huppe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    317
    Don't think so.
    But I have to say I use follow me not that much.You need a good open space.
     
  5. Lofty Visions

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Thanks guys. Im still learning so the feedback is greatly appreciated. Next step is to get the hand of ND filters and all the photographic stuff as the light down here is huge on sunny days.

    Yes you do need a lot of open space to use Follow Me, I certainly wouldn't advise using it in a built up area. I would also advise a second person driving the car if you want to get the best out if the app by making adjustments on the fly or take control if a crash is imminent.

    As for DJI releasing it I wouldn't hold your breath. Autopilot is on iOS now for not too much money and it comes with other controls like POI, Focus, Target etc for in app purchases. I'm finding those mode a bit fiddly to use dropping points on a map with not much space to work with on the ipad mini which is why I've been using the DJI Go POI more often.
     
  6. steelkite

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    27
    Might I ask, what was the tablet-pad that you used while employing autopilot?
     
  7. Lofty Visions

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I use an iPad Mini 2 32gb cellular
     
  8. kcobello

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Ransomville NY
    Awesome!!
     
    Lofty Visions likes this.
  9. Peter Syson

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    A good flight!
     
    Lofty Visions likes this.
  10. Danj503

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    7
    As a photographer first, and drone pilot second, I can't overstate the importance of shutter lock and manual exposure. I always fly with manual settings and only use auto exposure only for shots whose movement will travel through a heavy exposure change. (like from inside to outside for example). I always start with my shutter locked to 2 times my frame rate. so 24fps gets 1/48-1/50, 30fps gets 1/60, and 60fps gets 1/120 shutter. I don't go higher as this results in jello. Then I adjust my ISO to get my exposure correct never going over 800 if possible. 800+ is too noisy and shots are unusable. If you have to go higher to get correct exposure, you're no longer filming your just documenting. Also, I always expose for highlights first and if the shadows end up too dark, chances are there is still detail to work with in post, but if you have blown out highlights, you can't recover those in post so I give highlights priority. I check exposure, and using manual controls I lock it before each shot, as each shot requires minor adjustment. I use filters (ND and UV) when in harsh sun or hazy conditions to bring in the blue sky and reduce haze when it's bright out. I also recommend a low contrast, low saturation, minor sharpness color profile to record in. (I think it's called 'log'). This gives you the most detail in shadows, and the most latitude in post to add sharpness, contrast and color to your liking. TV's and monitors have their own added levels of contrast,sharpness, and saturation. You don't want those cranked before sending it to a TV that will crank it even more ;) Hope this helps anyone reading!

    -Dan
     
  11. Peter Syson

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Dan, always helpful for the drone flyers (and not the photographers) like me.....but getting there!
     
  12. Lofty Visions

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Thanks Dan, great advice indeed. Much appreciated :)
     
  13. Autoflight Logic

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    361
    Glad you are enjoying the app, and great footage by the way! Would love to include some of this in our marketing material if you are open to it. Please email contact@autoflightlogic.com to discuss.

    We are hoping that switching to Google Maps will improve the map pin issue. In the meantime, have you tried the "Set with Aircraft Position" button? For example, on the shipwreck, you can manually fly to right above the ship with camera pointed straight down, get the aircraft perfectly in the center, and then tap the button.
     
    Glen likes this.
  14. Lofty Visions

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Wow, thank you for your kind words. Email sent!

    Thank you, yes I intend to test the "set with aircraft position" function next time I get the opportunity. It's a great app, thank you :cool:
     
    Glen likes this.