Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

How to find out if I am buying a 100% never flown inspire

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Angel, Feb 22, 2016.

  1. Angel

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi guys, I am buying an inspire with a 5x camera on Wednesday.
    It's a second hand one but the guys says that he has never flown it and has never used it at all.

    How could I be sure that it has never been used at all?. I would go to pick it up but I want to find out if there is a way of knowing 100% sure that it's never been used at all.... not even just to hover it briefly....

    Thanks
     
    David Cundiff likes this.
  2. ianwood

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Pull the DAT files. I don't think those get wiped. One is created for every power on event. If there are several, or they are big files, it's probably been flown.
     
  3. Angel

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Ianwood. How can you do that when I get there?. I thought they were liked to an email and you have to open an account and so on?
     
  4. Angel

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just found it that you connect the craft to the computer. I tried with my P3P but it's not connecting (despite I connect to the "Flight Data Mode" in the app) to my mac (I have "El Capitan" operating system). Anyone can help finding out why the drone is not connecting to my MAC?.

    I tried to look for Mac drivers out there but I can't find any.... Any ideas?
     
  5. Bryan Conover

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    36
    You guys are working too hard...If you attach a tablet and and it ask to register via the GO app...it's a virgin.
     
  6. Mr Phantom

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    25
    Or a used Inspire 1 unit that has been to the DJI factory for various reasons and been "reset" by DJI.
     
  7. Bryan Conover

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    36
    Its nearly impossible to tell mileage on a Inspire 1 but of the DJI reset it...it's likely they checked it out for proper functionality. If flown 6 different Inspire 1 and they all generally feel the same. One had 400 flights and recently returned from a FPV related issue and DJI gave it a clean bill of health.
     
  8. Mr Phantom

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    25
    Yes one would guess its properly checked out by DJI at that point, but there was probably a reason it went to DJI in the first place, even though they fixed it and then checked it out for any remaining problems. Question is how thorough their test procedure is?
    But yes i agree that it should have been checked out by DJI.

    As a matter of fact my Inspire 1 that i bought was probably reset by DJI since i bought it in the shop as a not brand new unit but in very good condition. So i was expecting it to already be activated to somebody else's DJI account, but to my surprise it was not activated. So my thought was that it has maybe been back to DJI, even though i didn't see any traces of use on the bird, not even under it´s feet.
    So far it has worked like any other unit that works good, ("knock on wood").