Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Inspire compass reporting 0 value after 1.3 update

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Help' started by InspireUser, Aug 30, 2015.

  1. InspireUser

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all. I have an inspire I'm working on. I performed the update following the directions and it completed with success confirmed in the log file on the SD.

    Now when powering it up I get the craft initialize blink of all colours of the Leds the gimbal initializes and then points ahead. About 1 second after that the gimbal goes limp and the leds on the ac start to cycle red orange green. I see the error the the gimbal can't connect to the Mc on the go app. I also see that it says the compass is not calibrated. I have attempted to calibrate many times however it will not complete. It's not a magnetic interference problem I can confirm. If I go into the sensor value's the compass reports all 0s.

    Any ideas of what to try next. I have not been able to find information on how to downgrade the craft to the previous version even tho they say it can now be done.
     
  2. Wormwood

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Take the camera off & make sure all the contact pads are clean & all the pins are not bent. Also make sure the pins are all spring loaded & they retract properly.
     
  3. InspireUser

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks,

    I have had a look at this and see nothing wrong with them. I have also ascertained that the cables connecting to the vibration plate are fine. I see the same issue even when powering with the gimbal not connected. I know there is communication happening between the two as when I power up the inspire the 1 second before the gimbal goes limp I can press the yaw stick and see the gimbal make a slight movement as if I was in single pilot mode.
     
  4. Aviator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Have you performed a full IMU calibration?
     
  5. InspireUser

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes sir apparently completed successfully too.

    On that same screen where you can see the current reported values I see nothing but 0 for the compass even when moving the ac in all axis.
     
  6. Aviator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Just download the Firmware Version 1.2.1.06 from DJI, extract it and put the bin file into the root of an SD card,
    Perform the upgrade (downgrade) just like you did for the latest version..
     
  7. InspireUser

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0

    I did try that and it made the d-d-d-d noise for a short period, when checking the log on the SD I see that it might have downgraded some of the items but not all. After clearing the log and trying again it shows that its the same version or lower message. Doesn't seem to fully down grade.
     
  8. Aviator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Post the txt here for us to see..
     
  9. InspireUser

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried to downgrade again seems to do something but the problem persists. Log files attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Aviator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    This from your TXT file..
    ========== 2015.08.28 11:40:00 =====================
    Packet: WM610_FW_V01.03.00.00.bin, WM610_FW_V01.02.01.06.bin
    Result: Forbidden.
    Multiple version firmware bin files are detected. Please delete the redundant bin file.


    I would suggest you format the SD card before putting the WM610_FW_V01.02.01.06.bin back on to it.
     
  11. InspireUser

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0

    The log shows all previous attempts, that was when I was messing about trying to get this sorted. If you read the log from bottom up you can see the most recent attempt where it did not have multiple bin files on the SD card.