Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

RC 1.8 update problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by PerthPilot, Apr 8, 2016.

  1. PerthPilot

    PerthPilot Guest

    Just updated pro to 1.8 firmware but when I plug USB stick into RC to update it won't recognise it??
    any suggestions
     
  2. Mad_angler1

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    159
    You update the RC via the DJI Go app.

    Unless the FW is older than V1.320 that is.
     
  3. PerthPilot

    PerthPilot Guest

    WI turn it on it just says RC signal lost
     
  4. Mad_angler1

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    159
    Read back through my posts in this thread there is a process to follow.
     
  5. ISP5557

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Illinois
    Turn on RC
    plug into tablet
    Launch DJI Go
    Have internet connection
    It will see the update and prompt the download.
     
  6. PerthPilot

    PerthPilot Guest

    How do you get your flight records back once you syn them?
     
  7. wood man

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    12
    the update went well, batteries were updated. It did take 3 times for the slave to pick up and request an upgrade
    and both RC's said loss of signals just keep doing it and it will work ---power down all and power up like a re-boot
    This is one of the better updates for me
     
  8. PerthPilot

    PerthPilot Guest

    It's ok I deleted app and reinstalled it....sick of DJI they can't seem to get anything right....morons
     
    dasko and Alastair like this.
  9. Alastair

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Prince Edward Island, Canada
    Rich morons!
     
    dasko likes this.
  10. PerthPilot

    PerthPilot Guest

    Only a matter of time until someone comes along with a better product and BETTER CUSTOMER SERVICE....I for one can't wait
     
    tweaker and dasko like this.
  11. Curt

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    10
    Why is it I pay premium dollar for a DJI product and I become a beta tester for a mandatory firmware upgrade without any compensation.
    That should be the question that most of us are asking and will DJI give us the answer to that question. I have three of their products which all needed firmware upgrades so compound your issues on firmware updates three times for me. Yesterday was a long day for me but success.
    DJI need to hire better R&D people that actually do research and development !
     
    #12 Curt, Apr 9, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2016
    Peet05 likes this.
  12. PerthPilot

    PerthPilot Guest

    I feel your pain
     
  13. JJB Inspections

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Western Tennessee
    I just updated to new firmware I updated Inspire pro before I updated RC It seems to be working but the light on the x5 camera flickers to red should I be concerned
     
  14. OLFBCN

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    same problem here, Today, while running the DJI Go App, it said a new Firmware was available (1.8) for the Remote Controller. I downloaded it through the app, and installed. but now cant start aircraft, only travel mode locked. if read notes about firmware, saids upgrade first aircraft....great idea!!, anyone knows how do now?? thanks a lot!!
     
  15. Steven Powter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    87
    The golden rule.. ALWAYS.. update AC first with RC turned ..OFF....
     
  16. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,708
    Likes Received:
    3,869
    It's not mandatory (none of them have been apart from a very early one involving IMU issues). If you do not want to update - don't.
     
    slim.slamma likes this.
  17. Curt

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    10
    Sorry I know nothing about the new X-5 camera's, my Inspire has the X-3 original camera.
     
  18. OLFBCN

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ll remember that , but now ??
     
  19. Curt

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    10
    Well I did my first test flight since the 1.8 firmware update. My Inspire 1 performed flawlessly. I kept it in the air for the full 18 minutes and did a return to home to bring it back and land it. My Inspire 1 was the hardest of my three (Inspire 1, Phantom 3 Pro & Phantom 4) to upgrade. I did all the transferring of file (firmware) to the SD card, loaded the SD into the slot of the X-3 camera. Kept the RC off and turned on the drone, nothing happened on three tries. I took the chance and loaded the RC and then came back to the drone. The drone loaded but I had an error (No Connection). I was using my ipad mini 3. I switched over to my Nvidia Shield tablet and it worked. remember the ipad operates on IOS and the Shield operates as an android, anyway it worked the connection problem is resolved. I had contacted the DJI help desk who gave me ideas on what might be the problem and two of his ideas was reformat the SD card and reload and remove the Go-app and replace it those ideas probably helped.
    Why do I have to be a bata tester, is that the way they do things in China ?
     
    Fdnyfish likes this.