Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Settings for filming white sails on dark water

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Help' started by Tim, Oct 13, 2015.

  1. Tim

    Tim

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Edinburgh and Yorkshire, UK
    Hi all,

    I've been trying to get a good video image with the X3 while filming boats at my local sailing club. I'm attempting to get a nice colour and exposure range throughout. Either the white sails are blown-out or the water too dark. The clouds are blown-out too or the green hills are turned to mush.

    I've CPL, ND8 and ND16 filters and tried each with various shutter speeds and ISO settings but can never quite get the balance right of white sails and dark water.

    E.g.



    Any hints and tips would be most gratefully received.
     
  2. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    571
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    @Tim the automatic exposure will try to give you a balanced exposure for the whole scene unless you tap on a specific area to get selective exposure. Your white sails are only small areas of the scene so that the default auto exposure will not cope with them and you will have problems keeping the selective exposure on target. The best way it to use the right thumb wheel to increase the overall exposure by 0.3 to 1.0 stop. You will need to experiment and you may find you lose the rich colours of the water and vegetation.
     
  3. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    341
    The ND filters don't provide a solution. They are only to influence the shutter speed.
    I would use LOG mode, set color to Flat, Style to Custom with -1 to -2 for contrast, saturation and sharpness (try out these for yourself). Don't panic when you see a very dull and flat image on your screen. In post processing (with a Pro application) you can use LUTs to optimise the color, sharpness and saturation. You will have a lot of control over the whites and blacks and be able to dial in detail.
    You can use dedicated Inspire1 LUTs in Premiere Pro, Davinci Resolve or Final Cut Pro.

    I got my Inspire1 LUTs here: The DJI Inspire 1 LUTs - Neumann Films

    Edit: Actually, the recommended settings (by Neumann) are:

    4K/30p
    SHUTTER SPEED: 60/ISO 100
    FORMAT: MP4
    LOG PROFILE
    SHARPNESS: -1, CONTRAST: -3, SATURATION: -3 COLOR: FLAT
     
    #3 lake_flyer, Oct 14, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2015
    steelkite and Tom Hannen like this.
  4. Tim

    Tim

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Edinburgh and Yorkshire, UK
    Excellent! Thanks for the replies. I'm flying tomorrow morning and will try those settings with and without filters. I'll also get the LUTs (and plugin).

    Thanks again.
     
    Scotflieger likes this.
  5. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    728
    Shoot log and expose (ideally manual, but just exposure compensation should get you there too) so as not to blow out the whites (zebra helps if you're using an iOS device).
    Then color-correct to get something as good as you can in the darker areas, but don't expect miracles from the X3's pretty limited dynamic range.

    EDIT: just saw the video, what's with that dark brown water? No wonder it appears pitch black... because it just is!
     
    #5 Kilrah, Oct 14, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2015
    Scotflieger likes this.
  6. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    571
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    Unfortunately, it would appear the Plug-in needed to run these LUTs is only available for Final Cut Pro X and not for Adobe Premiere Pro.
     
  7. Tim

    Tim

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Edinburgh and Yorkshire, UK
    Got the plugin working fine on Final Cut Pro X but as you can guess, the Inspire LUTs are not much use on rubbish footage.

    I'm trying to setup the camera as per lake_flyer/Neumann suggestions but I'm not finding the DJI GO app settings obvious, perhaps you chaps could help a little more:

    4k does not have a 30fps setting, only 24 and 25:

    Recording LOG profile, is that Color: D-Log ?

    Sharpness/Contrast/Saturation are in the Style menu?

    What is the Manual M.M setting and why can it not be changed?

    Sorry for all the extra questions but hopefully it will help more that just me.
     
  8. Tim

    Tim

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Edinburgh and Yorkshire, UK
    With my camera work and the brown water, I need miracles! ;-)
     
  9. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    341
    Plug In?

    I just unpacked them to a folder and can use them in Adobe Premiere Pro CC (choose 'Custom LUT or from file'), and Resolve, which I use primarily (LUTs need to be copied in the Resolve LUTs folder. They also work for FC Pro X. No plug in needed.
     
  10. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    571
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    Thank you. It is just that the list of useable apps lists a required plugin. I contacted Luke Neumann directly and got the advice you give. He also mentioned that X5 LUTs were coming soon.
     
  11. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    341
    No problem, some, if not, many people are helped by questions only others dare to ask.

    My answers are in your post I quoted by the way.
     
  12. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    341
    That's good to hear. His LUT's are amazing, as long as you have the settings like he recommends, they are spot on. But in Resolve I normally use an extra panel with the LOG in it and blend that with the original until I'm satisfied.
    They are also a great starting point for if you want to develop your own LUTs in Resolve.
    Resolve 12 is downloadable for Mac/Win for free (for those who don't know that already) and comes with a load of features, not only for grading but also for editing. You need a pretty beefy machine though.
     
  13. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    341
    If the whites are overexposed during the shoot there's nothing left to do, your whites are just white, nothing else.
    That's why you have to shoot in (D-)LOG and Manual (so the exposure stays consistent over the entire clip). That will preserve the nuances in the bright areas, like the white sails on dark water.
     
  14. Tim

    Tim

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Edinburgh and Yorkshire, UK
    Great! Thanks lake_flyer. I'll switch to NTSC.

    Did you mean ND filters instead of ED? I've been doing camera work for > 10 years and not come across ED filters. Worried now that I've missed something important...
     
  15. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    341
    Sorry, yes I meant ND....stupid. Extra Dispersion (ED) has nothing to do with this ....although it shines with my Nikon 80-200 2.8ED :). Got them mixed up.
     
  16. Tim

    Tim

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Edinburgh and Yorkshire, UK
    :)

    ...and yes +1 for Nikkor lens glass.
     
  17. Tim

    Tim

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Edinburgh and Yorkshire, UK
    So, thanks to all your help, I've definitely improved my video skills in just a day! Looking forward to testing and refining this weekend on the sailing boats.

    Here's a quick test I did last night, youtube seems to have made the video much darker and the colours flatter though. :-/

    Post-processing using FCPX with Clear Skies LUT.

     
  18. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    571
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    Nice video. I hope you spoke to Edinburgh Airport ATC beforehand.
     
  19. Tim

    Tim

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Edinburgh and Yorkshire, UK
    Thanks Scot.

    Last time I flew there, February I think, ATC said no need to call again unless there's a current NOTAM for other craft. The current bridge area NOTAMs are just for cranes. Should I have called anyway? Microlights etc should have been down by then because it was 30 minutes before sunset, not much time for them to find somewhere to land. I1 launch site and flight plan was >5km from airport and circuit. Kept >150m from bridge structure. BNUC-S exam in a few weeks so any hints, tips and blatant infringements, please point them out.

    500m limit only get's half way across the bridge, frustrating.
     
  20. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    571
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    @Tim nice to hear that Edinburgh ATC as so relaxed. I get your point about microlights in the area. If you haven't found it, check out the iOS app Sky Demon Light which has all the latest NOTAM and airspace restrictions. Good luck with your exam.