Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Track a point

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by rgsinsc, Feb 18, 2015.

  1. rgsinsc

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the I1 currently have the ability to autonomously fly around a point (IE: statue) and have the camera remain fixed on that point during flight?
     
  2. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    3,880
  3. rgsinsc

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know if that is a planned future firmware upgrade, along with "follow me"?
     
  4. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    Nope...... That's what your thumbs are for.;)

    No substitute for learning to fly your airframe without the nanny stabilisers.
     
  5. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    Apparently it does have a feature where the camera can remain pointing in a set direction but you still have to fly it along your chosen path e.g around a structure.
     
    Floppy01 likes this.
  6. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    POI is on the menu in the app but no code attached so I rekon its coming, along with Ground Station/waypoints hopefully.
     
  7. geronimosan

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I remember watching a video from DJI where they showed drawing a circle on the map in the app and then had the I1 fly that route. That functionality was one of the reasons I purchased it. Does that functionality not exist?
     
  8. Tahoe Ed

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    251
    POI is planned for future versions of the firmware including Home Lock. Waypoints are not anticipated at this time.
     
    IrishSights and damoncooper like this.
  9. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,455
    Likes Received:
    1,624
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    +1 on POI. However, I'm REALLY hoping waypoints (aka Ground Station functionality) makes it in.

    The BBC UK contacted me after seeing a video I made on New England Fall Foliage (using the Phantom 2/GP3 platform) and they want to do a piece on New England fall foliage as well and include Inspire-produced video footage. They want to be be able to fly the exact same route in the New Hampshire White Mountains at different times of year and stitch the video together so the seasons change as the flight progresses, etc. I can probably simulate this fairly closely by hand but waypoints / Ground Station functionality would be the ideal way to nail it. The deviances in flight path when done by hand will be much greater than a GPS route.

    I'd pay extra for GS/Waypoint functionality (possibly an "In-App Purchase" to unlock it?).

    I'm sure other use cases would really like this functionality as well (utility inspection, agriculture/farming, etc).
     
    #9 damoncooper, Feb 19, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2015
    IrishSights and basil like this.
  10. amorrison

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Their A2 flight controller already has it, and it works well. They obviously have the algorithms to encode, so hopefully it won't be long.
     
  11. sdjackaerial

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    84
    I gotta say, if waypoint doesn't happen for the Inspire1, I'm going to be disappointed.
     
    IrishSights and damoncooper like this.
  12. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    For me too its VERY important. Between this forum and others there seems to be great interest for DJI Ground Station functionality for professional and survey use.

    @Tahoe Ed, I am sure others here would agree: to ask you to make a request to the dev/firmware team that there is great and serious need for this functionality, and request a status on it and indeed give us a little more solid information than 'not anticipated at this time'. As its in the A2 it would seem that its not a mammoth task to port it to the Inspires FC.

    I think as potential professional customers we are just trying to escalate this a bit. Thank you for considering this request.

    David
     
    damoncooper likes this.
  13. Mazz

    Mazz Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    585
    Location:
    NY
    I still can not see why this wouldn't happen. Too many people looking for it and it is one of the great things about these more advanced quads, you do not need to be a pro-pilot to get great shots (it helps thought). It is not like they do not have experience in the subject. I like to fly manually anyway but this feature is neat when you want to film yourself doing activities.
     
  14. Soflms

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    South Florida
    Screenshot_2015-02-26-14-42-55.png I suggest reading into the ioc poi future updates. I saw something about flying around an object and maintaining camera lock, all autonomously
     
    #14 Soflms, Feb 26, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2015