Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Unlock motors

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by shockwave199, Jan 4, 2015.

  1. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    40
    This means what? I see it in the app but I can't find any information in the manual.
     
  2. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    40
    90 views and no one knows. Hmm, that setting remains a mystery but it sure does seem important. Perhaps you use it when changing motors if need be?
     
  3. jobongers

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is in the manual under : UNLOCKING TRAVEL MODE
     
  4. Mazz

    Mazz Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    585
    Location:
    NY
    My initial hypothesis on the motor lock was for working on the machine while the props are still attached. The experienced pilots know that if you are working on it, just take the props off.....
     
  5. TJ Gilbert

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ridgeland, MS (USA)
    "Unlock Motor" is a separate button above "Enter Travel Mode" and "Exit Travel Mode" in the app...
     
  6. PhantomDave

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Chaska, MN
    I am guessing it locks them straight for travel mode.
     
  7. TJ Gilbert

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ridgeland, MS (USA)
    If straight means props oriented parallel to each other... I don't see how it will determine this orientation.
    I tend to think locking them against possible start-up like Mazz suggested is closer to correct.
    Someone will eventually chime in...
     
  8. Funnone

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Toledo,Oho
    I was also curious about this feature. Anyone, Bueller Bueller Bueller
     
  9. Mike Meyer

    Mike Meyer Guest

    I agree...I'm trying to know everything I can about this before I get mine...all the videos just gloss over this..."OK, there is the Motor Lock," and then go to the next thing...has anyone asked DJI help line what this function really does?
     
  10. Tahoe Ed

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    251
    With one of the early versions of the firmware the upgrade actually locked the motors and you were required to "unlock the motors" before you could fly. I don't think that this feature is currently being used.
     
  11. Mike Meyer

    Mike Meyer Guest

    Makes sense, but it would be good to get this confirmed. I'll try the DJI chat line.
     
  12. Quadpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    Chaska, MN
    Mike, please note that Tahoe Ed, who responded to your question with facts that explain why that line is still in the app, is a DJI Forum Support employee who also beta tests their products, including the Inspire. I would take his explanation as more authoritative than the Chat Line. Just saying' ;)
     
  13. Mike Meyer

    Mike Meyer Guest

    The only thing that I saw from Ted...post before my latest on this subject...was "I don't think this feature is currently being used." I did not know Ted is a forum support employee (which is great)...but even so, his post seemed a big vague? Maybe I missed something?

    Hopefully, this all this is much to do about nothing, but the cumulative effect of so many unknowns and issues...loose frames, props falling off, yaw issues, etc...tends to make me concerned as I want to make sure I really know how all this stuff is supposed to work.