Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

X5 Lens Calibration Info Stored on Tablet/Device

Discussion in 'Zenmuse X5' started by Gregg Smith, Nov 11, 2015.

  1. Gregg Smith

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    One thing I found out Halloween weekend was that when you calibrate the lens on the X5 using one device and you switch to another, you have to do it all over again. It appears that this information is saved on the device and not the aircraft or camera.

    I usually fly using my iPad Air and when I went out to film the flooding here in Central Texas over Halloween, I had accidentally forgot to grab my iPad off my desk and when I got to the spot to start filming, I realized this and had to use my iPhone 5s. This was the first time I had used my iPhone with my new Inspire 1 Pro. I was fortunate in that I noticed that the focus was off a bit when I was reviewing the first flight. I recalibrated the lens upon takeoff of my second flight while hovering about 20 feet in the air. After that I was fine.

    So wanted to let folks know that the camera lens calibration settings are saved on the device you use and not on the aircraft or camera. A friend of mine didn't notice this until it was too late when he had to switch devices mid shoot due to low battery on his iPad and they had wrapped a filming.

    Hopefully this will save someone else the disappointment of not getting the shot when you thought you didn't need to re-calibrate the lens.
     
    Chnjab, berns, sablue and 1 other person like this.
  2. FlyHighUSA

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    317
    Location:
    Munfordville Ky
    Thanks for the information, very helpful I didn't know that!!
     
  3. Catvet

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    So if you are using a two operator setup. Do you calibrate separately with both devices? Does it then work no matter which device you focus with?
     
  4. ianwood

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Wait! What? Are you sure about this?
     
  5. Nils Blix

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    26
    Hmmmm Are you sure ? What if you delete your Go app and reinstall it - will you loose you lens calibration. Seems odd to me.
     
  6. FlyHighUSA

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    317
    Location:
    Munfordville Ky
    According to what I have read the calibration is held in the application. Seems confusing I know.
     
  7. Mark C

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    25
    Where else would the calibration data be stored? The App is the only place.
     
  8. FlyHighUSA

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    317
    Location:
    Munfordville Ky
    Well it is totally possible that it held in the camera as it is on most.
     
  9. Nils Blix

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    26
    Could not the camera have a kind of internal memory ?
     
  10. FlyHighUSA

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    317
    Location:
    Munfordville Ky
    I just said the same thing. Makes sense right