Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Calibrating Lens?

Discussion in 'Zenmuse X5' started by Figbar, Oct 23, 2015.

  1. Figbar

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    166
    I just got my X5 and have installed it correctly. I'm prompted to calibrate the lens...pointing it at a high contrast object 50m away...(160'). I'm assuming I need to be in auto focus mode to do this and that I should have the camera in a fixed, stable position on the ground? Is the 50 meters a critical distance, or do I just need to pick something out fairly far away for the calibration. Is there a message give indicating the calibration is successful?

    I was planning on shooting in manual focus mode...the manual says "always set the camera lens to AF mode." Not sure why the manual says to do this?

    Thanks for you help.
     
  2. Element

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe manual mode is for use with the DJI Wireless Follow Focus System but I may be mistaken.
     
  3. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    Because you want to be able to select auto/manual and adjust manual focus from the app/camera settings. If you put the AF/MF switch on the lens to MF then it forces MF using the physical focus ring on the lens and you lose remote control.
     
  4. Element

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for making that clearer for me. :p
     
  5. Figbar

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    166
    I would really love to see a video - produced by DJI - that goes throught this lens calibrating process - step by step - don't need a lot of production value, just the basics of how to do this properly.
     
    protorox likes this.
  6. protorox

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    26
    I second this. There are so many different opinions on how to do it. For me it's hard to tell with a 720p feedback if its really in focus or not.
     
    Djalma Ribeiro and Studio D YXE like this.
  7. Robert Youens

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    4
    For those having lens calibration / soft focus issues with your X5... It was happening to me also. I have been messing with my X5 for the past 3 hours and believe I have this lens calibration figured out... sort of. I wish DJI would make a video on lens calibration, but after what I just went through I see why they are not making that video after many requests from Inspire Pro and X5 owners.

    1. As it states, make sure you have a high contrast object to focus on at least 50 meters out. I live on a dead end street, so just centered the calibration on a home front about 60 meters out that was high contract. I set my aircraft on my case so the camera was above the grass.

    2. I made sure that my aperture was at 1.7 so I could quickly check the results against manual focus infinity setting. At F1.7 if you hit the infinity button, everything should be in focus on the targeted high contrast object 50 plus meters out. If you are in f 8 you might be in focus if you hit the infinity button... this does not mean it is calibrated because of the long depth of field associated with F8.

    3. Go to "tool", then "calibration". I made sure that the object I was going to focus on was in center of screen (not sure if this makes a difference). Click calibration.

    4. Click OK, it will tell you to tap on the area you want to calibrate on. I found I had to tap on it twice some times. If it beeped and calibration went back to OK it was complete. Click OK again... it will exits calibration mode.

    5. I immediately went to Manual Focus mode to see if in F1.7, when I touched the infinity button, things were in focus. They were not. I had read a comment to try repeating the process. I did repeat the process approximately 20 times before... OMF'nG... the focus in manual focus mode was perfect at F1.7 when I hit the infinity symbol.

    6. Because I am hard headed I tried for another couple of hours more to see if there was a way to make lens calibration consistently successful. It seems to me to be a purely hit or miss process.

    *** Important Note *** from what I can tell the lens calibration resides within the mobile device your aircraft is connected to, so if you use another mobile device from time to time you will need to calibrate the lens for that mobile device also.
     
    Lloyd, hella, Droider and 1 other person like this.
  8. Figbar

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    166
    Thanks for going to all this trouble to document your process. I just don't understand why this has to be such a mystery? I'll give this a try. I really admire how detailed your process description is. Thanks again!
     
  9. Element

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for taking the time to post this. Once I get my Inspire 1 back I will give the calibration another go. :)
     
  10. Figbar

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    166
    Has anyone representing DJI responded to requests for more info about lens calibration? This shouldn't be so vague...nothing in the X5 manual.
     
  11. zoltanh

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, MY
    Yes I need a step by step tutorial because I tried for a few hours too trying to calibrate the lens but I just dont get it how the app works. The 'OK' never shows up when i calibrate so I dont know what I'm missing.
     
  12. DroneTechAerial

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Malibu, CA
    It has been stated before, but additionally do the calibration in photo mode so that you can take advantage of the digital zoom function when doing the manual focus.
     
  13. tweaker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    76
    The "ok" you are expecting does not show once calibrated. Yes weird I know. That was the case on the old firmware

    I calibrated reviewed images as a go or no go to guage if it was calibrated.

    Hope this helps
     
  14. Droider

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Every Holiday Inn in the UK!
    Very useful. Cant believe there is nothing in the instructions. Is there nothing by DJI about this? I have searched their forum but nothing from them. just a few other helpful posts like the one above.

    I bought the camera with the DJI lens but have a 12mm Olympus, guess ing you need to do this when you change lenses?

    I normally always shoot in manual but am I right in thinking I still need to carry out this process to set 'Infinity'?
     
  15. Figbar

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    166
    No DJI does not have anything on this...even in their manual. I guess they aren't making enough money to produce a simple video showing us the approved step-by-step process.
     
    Droider and tweaker like this.
  16. tweaker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    76
    Its all part of the fun figuring it out......

    This forum is invaluable to the above along with a bit of logic,skull muscle and experience!!
     
  17. Droider

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Every Holiday Inn in the UK!
    Thats great for younger brains but mine needs a reformat which at my age I ant got time for ;-)

    Any links would be appreciated.

    D
     
  18. Droider

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Every Holiday Inn in the UK!
    Just incredible! There is almost nothing on there forum either. Bizarre you8 spen all this mont and there are things you need to spent time researching rather than flying!
     
  19. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    Why the hell do you have to even do this? No micro four thirds or slr camera I've ever used need lenses calibrating.
    Is the autofocus shit or something and can't compensate for different lenses?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  20. Droider

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Every Holiday Inn in the UK!
    Still trying to find a real good answer to this. I have a few bits and bobs I will cobble together and hopefully get out tomorrow and try the variations. Then Ill try the procedure I have written after a whole day investigating and reading forums and FB groups!