Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Hard reset

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Help' started by Luke, Feb 27, 2015.

  1. Luke

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    14
    anyone knows how to hard reset this drone and rc?
     
  2. Mazz

    Mazz Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    585
    Location:
    NY
    Do you mean something more significant than turning it off and turning it back on but less than re-installing firmware? Those are the two resets I know of.
     
  3. PetePerrim

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    One very effective form of resetting it is to carefully place your Inspire on your driveway and then delicately reverse over it with your car or pick-up. After you have completed that stage, get out your Visa, MasterCard or Amex, (or a mix of all three) and order a new Inspire. This reset works flawlessly.
     
  4. crashburn

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    160
    There should be a way to reset to factory settings or hard reset like you do when your device freezes, but I don't know how, and havent seen any need to yet…. Probably no way to roll back a firmware upgrade though, especially if you think you've screwed up your upgrade process?

    Enjoy life and be nice
     
  5. Soflms

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    South Florida
    Something went wrong updating my firmware to .17 android, now my inspire blinks yellow fast and won't connect to the transmitter
     
  6. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    728
    Won't connect until you've also updated the transmitter.
     
  7. Soflms

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    South Florida
    Lol I'm currently reading through the 8 page thread on it now
     
  8. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    728
    The single page of instructions that comes with the firmware should be enough ;)
     
    PB30X likes this.
  9. Soflms

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    South Florida
    I always read the instructions before asking any questions, or doing anything like updates. I've read my entire manual a few times however this issue happened because the inspire updated for about 40 straight minutes, then shut itself off and didn't turn back on again. It was because of other members that I figured it out, not the poorly wrote instructions from dji for the firmware updates.
     
  10. Soflms

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    South Florida
    I had to double post because when I edit my above post it butchers it, but my controller would not auto update when following the exact instructions. I've successfully updated it on the last update and it wasn't working this time. I had to completely start over erasing all data on the SD card, then I re installed the. 17 update loaded it into the inspire (it made no beeps this time) waited for camera to calibrate, THEN plugged in the TX to the camera. . It was after this that it finally updated the controller.
     
  11. leo

    leo

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is an absolute joke !
    The manual on page 33 claims there is a button on the inspire that links the controller to inspire, THERE IS NO BUTTON
    either this is a practical joke or a hidden button, or an outdated manual , or I am blind, but I have had this inspire a month and used it only an hour.
     
  12. Soflms

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    South Florida
    2015-03-07-20-56-08.png

    Right here red button
     
    #12 Soflms, Mar 7, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2015
  13. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,459
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    I stumbled across that the very first day I bought it.
     
  14. leo

    leo

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    wow you are a lifesaver/ Its so well hidden its purple in my case / no exaggeration 5 people could not find that button
     
  15. mdomeny

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    50
    i checked the manual... and found it right away also prior to first use... :D
     
  16. leo

    leo

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    found the button but it did absolutely nothing still blinking fast yellow and no sign of that button even doing anything/ very frustrating
     
  17. leo

    leo

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    nevermind its fixed :)
     
    Luis Galvez likes this.
  18. mdomeny

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    50
    i know. just wanted to share :)
     
  19. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,459
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    How did you fix it?
     
  20. Soflms

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    South Florida
    Make sure you all update your controller after updating your firmware on your bird. It will do this until the controller is updated. You can watch the tutorial in your academy in the flight app. I had this problem and tried the button and it didn't work until I updated my firmware in the controller.