Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Inspire 1 went swimming

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Help' started by Blackwidow1, Mar 1, 2016.

  1. Blackwidow1

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    inspire 1 went in the ocean is there anything to do to salvage it
    Right now is in a container with fresh water
     
  2. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I feel for you. Mine went into a building yesterday. Nothing left of it. Good buy. Goodbye $8000
     
  3. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    There is a recent post on this subject and props.

    Did you read this thread?
    Downed inspire
     
  4. Blackwidow1

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks blue bird
     
  5. Blackwidow1

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know how you must feel DennisR
    I guess I got a bunch of batteries controllers and cases for sale
     
  6. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Yes... thats all I have left.
     
  7. ADSSER

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    13
    Just curious...

    Flyaway or pilot error?
     
  8. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    To be honest I don't know. It just got away while I was looking at the screen filming a slow pan. I looked up and couldn't see it. I hit RTH and then I saw it over the top of a tree and crash. I count believe it. I don't believe it was pilot error but the flight data should confirm that. it was in LOS but I was looking at the screen at the time.
     
  9. seanmclean

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    83
    Sounds like RTH Altitude wasn't set properly.
     
  10. unyks

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    175
    Well that's why WE follow usually some rules, the most important one are the startup procedures (check RTH etc., you know them)

    But many forget #2

    Don't panic if you don't see your bird immediately, check your map and the position and height of your bird. If you don't trust RTH, fly it back home manually until you gain visual contact again.

    Chris
     
  11. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I dont think that had anything to do with it as it was set for 60 metres. The craft was actually far away from where I thought it was. At the time, I was not flying it. I was checking where it was on the screen. I had it in sight just before.
     
  12. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I always set my RTH to 60 metres to be safe but that wasn't the cause. I was checking my position when I couldn't see the craft. Apparently the craft was flying about 300 metres from where it should have been. I had my hands off the sticks. It should have just hovered.
     
  13. Curt

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    10
    Personally I think you're going a little too far with the water a good rinse off is good and then a good dry out remember you're dealing with electronics.
     
  14. Bruce Bowsher

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    were you over water or sand.... and what mode were you flying in F, P, or A...?
     
  15. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I was over water. I think I had the camera turned towards me thinking it would come home but the craft was going sideways at the time. Thats what I get from the flight records.
     
  16. Haakon

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    9
    Sorry for your loss. Major pain. Do you think it was caused by a GPS error caused by reflected signals off buildings?
     
  17. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    What I dont understand is why RTH didn't kick in after i hit the button. Once I realised I couldn't see it and didn't know where it was, I hit the RTH. The RTH altitude is always set to 60 metres to be safe.
     
  18. Haakon

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    9
    RTH needs to be pushed and held for 3-4 seconds if using button on RC - I'm not sure if that's a change in recent firmware as thought previously when I tried it you had to just push it and release?

    Also given the proximity to the building if it had been a GPS error leading to a fly-away a switch to ATTI would have regained control for you - however given you had lost sight of it you wouldn't have necessarily known which way to correct for the momentum if it was already moving at speed towards the building... I'm not sure what I would have done - probably switch to ATTI and rapid ascent to try and bring it out of harms way and hopefully into sight. Perhaps a more experienced drone operator will chime in as there lessons to be learned here.
     
  19. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I think you are right with that. To be honest though, Thinking back I thought it would hover where it was while I was hitting the RTH. I didn't realise it was moving a previous times it would have just hovered and come home. I just think I had the cam facing away from the nose and thinking it was coming towards me, was actually going sideways with the camera facing me. I will have to learn to check the cam is snapped in to the way the drone is facing.
     
  20. Bruce Bowsher

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    There is a lag in the RTH that I have noticed... if your in trouble... It's not a parachute