Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Ipad mini 3 with Wifi only with Pilot

Discussion in 'DJI Go App' started by Daniel Mascheck, Mar 25, 2015.

  1. Daniel Mascheck

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    35
    I was told to buy the IPad mini with Wi-Fi only for my Inspire. The problem I have, is finding my location for a home point. Does the Inspire and or radio have to be on for it to find the location you are at on the map function? While at home on my Wi-Fi, it did show home sat picture on the map function. I know I can use my IPhone as a Hot Spot, but when I move 90 miles to our ranch, it would not pick up the location, although I never turned on the Radio and Inspire.


    I download the app to my IPhone as well and it seems to work without me having the Inspire or Radio on?


    Should I have bought the IPad with Cell capabilities? Is it necessary! Anyone using Wi-Fi only?


    I also notice a blue circle covering my home area, at times it can cover a large area. What is it for?


    Sorry for the amateur questions, but I’m new to Quads!
     
  2. Tahoejmfc

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    46
    If you wanted GPS positioning you should buy the ipad with cell. Otherwise load the map prior to leaving wifi into the inspire pilot software. The remote control has GPS built in and will show your location on the map.
     
  3. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    Or you can hotspot to your cell (if there's reception where you're flying) and cache the maps on site.
     
    Tahoejmfc likes this.
  4. Tahoejmfc

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    46
    Correct, but ,make sure to turn off the hotspot prior to flying
     
    sirnikolas likes this.
  5. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    That's right!
     
  6. Daniel Mascheck

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    35
    The problem is caching a map that is 90 miles away is a pain. You have to scroll across plenty of map to get to it. Seems like the app would be like Google Earth, you could enter a street address or nav coordinates to quickly find a location.


    Also seems using the phone as a hot spot should work.


    I will take the Inspire with me a few miles out of town and try using just the IPad with the Pilot program in map function. Then try it with the IPhone in Hot spot, then try it with the Inspire and radio on and see what happens. If no luck, then I’ll return the IPad for the cellular one. The only problem is if you can’t get cell access, like when you are way out in west Texas.


    So if I have no cell or Wi-Fi, I can sit at home on Wi-Fi and I want maps waaaaaay out in west Texas, I’ll have to scroll and scroll across to get there so it is cached in memory??
     
  7. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    Zoom out, scroll a bit once, zoom back in? Takes like 30 seconds.

    Yes.

    Your phone has a GPS and access to cell tower triangulation so it knows where it is and will show your location staight away. The WiFi only iPad doesn't, so it has no idea where it is at first. When you power everything on it will get location data from the I1 radio's built-in GPS and put you there.
     
  8. Daniel Mascheck

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    35
    So there is really no need to spend the $100 extra bucks for the cell service IPad or are their other advantages I'm unaware of?
     
  9. PetePerrim

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Not there really isn't. I have the ipad 3 wifi only model and it works just great. Like others have said, you can either cache the map before heading away or just hot-spot and load the map on site. Its not quite as convenient I guess but really, this is a first world problem.
     
    PB30X likes this.
  10. Daniel Mascheck

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    35
    Thank you! Being new to all this I get concerned, especially with the investment! Had mine for a few weeks, but with our wet weather have not had time to try it yet and now we hit our busy season.
     
  11. Daniel Mascheck

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    35
    You ever seen the blue circle on your IPad. It's like a halo and obscures the map.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. PB30X

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Pennsylvania

    The halo represents GPS accuracy within the HALO you are seeing.
     
  13. Daniel Mascheck

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    35
    I was told earlier and thank you!!
     
  14. DRONEONER

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    23
    use ur cell phone as hotspot and tether the data to your ipad when out in field. The Ipad will use the iphones gps for Location i believe (could be wrong) but i thought i read that when tethered it grabs the location stuff from phone. i have Ipad air 2 and i always tether to the ipad for map.
     
  15. DRONEONER

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    23
    I believe you dont have to turn off hotspot during flight. I have never had problems with any interference from my cell. and i tether for map data, but yes you could cache the map first and do it that way
     
  16. Tahoejmfc

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    46
    Have you ever gotten a text message while flying? It completely wipes out the video signal
     
  17. Tahoejmfc

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    46
    Best safety practice is to airplane mode your phone, less distractions and risk of failure.
     
  18. DCGOO

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    I never have. I leave the iPad (w/celluar) fully turned on so I always have Internet access. Plus I have a full cellphone (RF-16V locater) strapped to the bird. Never had a single problem, even at extreme distances, 2000 - 3000 feet.
     
  19. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,721
    Likes Received:
    3,875
    Yet!
     
  20. Harry Nicholson

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    UK
    I'm a little confused, it's is right to have both WIFI and cellular turned on, on my iPhone 6 plus while flying?