Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Solar Eclipse on August 21

Reaction score
Hello, I live in Tennessee very near the spot where the maximum period of total eclipse will occur at 1:32 p.m. on Monday, August 21, 2017. We will have just over 2 minutes and 35 seconds of total darkness. I am a police officer and I am a license pilot. I am responsible for our departmental drone (an Inspire I.2). I live on a mountain top about 2 miles from the City of Cookeville, Tennessee and have no neighbors. I have permission to fly the drone on that date. My plan is to film the scene from about 350 feet above my home and I have some questions. I want to film the moon shadow move across the landscape. We have lights on the drone and have wavers to fly at night when training and on other occasions. I assume this occasion will not be illegal. I have mountains and trees in all directions. The longer period of darkness is to my south. What direction would you film if I keep the camera set in one direction for the full exposure from the time the eclipse starts and as long as the battery (TB48) will allow me to stay up? I have the basic camera. Any other tips you would give for this once-in-a-life-time opportunity?