Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Welp this upgrade part 1 of 2

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Outta Control, Jun 8, 2015.

  1. Outta Control

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Right Above You
    Though I would love to get a iMac 5K I just hate to lose my investment in my current video/photo editing build plus I feel that my current setup configuration could rival the 5K and more.

    My only dilemma is that while my trusty and an absolute workhorse Nvidia Quadro 4000 can handle most of the editing for 4K it lag on it ability to perform several multitask process. So I need to upgrade some component.

    First the brain of the upgrade.
    [​IMG]

    PS: Once installed I will put my Quadro 4000 up on the Classified Forum if anyone is interested. This is an HP branded version which I found out was one of the most desired branded OEM. Don't know why and how but seasoned video editing folks seem to want HP more than the PNY or the DELL version.
     
    sirnikolas likes this.
  2. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    Interested to read about the improvements - my experience tends to show the GPU isn't that useful for video editing unless you go heavy on effects.
     
    sirnikolas likes this.
  3. Outta Control

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Right Above You
    I can only say is with the past high-end GeForce gaming graphic card that I've used for video and photo editing did not meet my expectation and ever since I went with what is considered as an industry standard card and with some of the Adobe experts recommend I bit the bullet and got a Quadro. Ever since then I had no issues plus was more efficient and productive ever since. That is until the Inspire with a 4K camera showed up and broke the party.

    http://tv.adobe.com/watch/nvidia-an...eleration-with-updated-adobe-premiere-pro-cc/

    This is pretty much what I am dealing with.
     
    #3 Outta Control, Jun 8, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2015
    sirnikolas likes this.
  4. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,459
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    That'll ignite the tyres without even trying!
     
    Outta Control likes this.
  5. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    My new machine. Uses a bit more power than my MacBookPro but edits 4k video like nobody's business. As a bonus it also makes atomic blast modeling a cake walk as well.

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1433808274.115102.jpg
     
    Outta Control and sirnikolas like this.
  6. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,459
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    ROFL!
     
  7. skylabimaging

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Which geforce cards were you using? I'm still on my 660ti and it blows for editing 4k but whatever, I just go back to transcoding (the good ol days) my machine will edit 720p/1080p like nobodies business, 4k just bogs my system out.
     
  8. CaptainBadge

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    240
    I took the leap and went with the iMac 5k. It destroys anything I have used at editing 4k.
     
    sirnikolas likes this.
  9. Outta Control

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Right Above You
    Corrected Statement: my initial response was to indicate that I had the ATI Radeon HD card that is currently being used on my son's computer but found some paperwork of my old GeForce card that I have no clue what ever happened to it. LOL

    Anyways also had the EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX before moving to the K4000.
     
    #9 Outta Control, Jun 9, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2015
    sirnikolas likes this.
  10. Outta Control

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Right Above You
    yea I would love to get a iMac 5K but I'd rather have the flexibility of having dual monitors for more workspace. Especially editing video.
     
    sirnikolas likes this.
  11. skylabimaging

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    yeah that card definitely won't edit 4k...that's old...I plan on bumpin up to the 980 soon, i've seen that thing hard at work, even an older 780 will do 4k.
     
  12. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    I just ran a comparison with GPU acceleration on and off on 4K ProRes and 4K I1 footage in Premiere CC, can't see a difference for simple playback/scrubbing of a raw clip, but if I throw an accelerated effect on it like a fast color corrector it will play at 2fps in software rendering yet play perfectly in real-time with GPU acceleration on. 2-3 accelerated effects still play as good.
    That's with a 5/6-year old GTX470, so no need at all for the latest and greatest.

    Unfortunately in Premiere not all effects are accelerated, and as soon as you throw one that is not like the lens correction the GPU advantage basically disappears and performance goes down the drain.
     
  13. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Yeah, I've learned to maximize productivity by doing things in a particular order.

    Music selection usually comes first for me, then clip selection (gather up all the good bits), then the messy business of layout on the timeline, then chopping away the chaff, then killing "darling" shots (I put on my ruthless director hat) that I know are duplicates, redundant, non-essential or less that top tier, then work the cuts to music.

    Then when it's all almost there, iterating with my "artistic director", then and ONLY then do I start grading and correcting.

    I usually try to do rendering overnight or while I'm at work, rendering to my Creative Cloud folder so I can see the render when it's done from work after the folder auto-syncs.

    Leave the expensive stuff till last is my advice. It'll just bog down your creative process.
     
  14. Outta Control

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Right Above You
    Well guys it all depends on your needs are.

    So far it seems most of y'all work on shots from the Inspire. Unfortunately for me editing video from the Inspire is only 20% of what I use my equipment for. I also do sports photography, some minor graphic design, and especially non-aerial video for clients with a variety of time consuming video effects. Thus the time = money concept is where I fit in. I would rather keep my K4000 but since now that freaking bird showed me a better tools thus overall I'd rather be the one who, "better have it and not need it versus need it but don't have it" shmuck. :)
     
  15. skylabimaging

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Thats crazy! I can't scrub through 4k i1 at all. And that's on a 660ti...Not on software or cuda, I might also add here that I'm on cs6, could be the issue...I can run 4k prores no problem, pretty much any computer can do that, it's a very optimized codec, so running a test on that is kind of irrelevant. My system will play 4k footage just fine outside of premiere but once it comes time to cut stuff it bogs way down. I've seen my buddies SLI 980gtx system, it'll do anything you want it to but he's a mo graph and 3d artist...and a gamer.

    And like OC, Inspire footy is the least amount of work I do. All my other vid projects are all 1080, which I have no issues with..software or cuda.
     
    Outta Control likes this.
  16. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    As I said earlier scrubbing I1 4K is crap in Premiere regardless of the machine specs. That post above only related to where a difference could be seen between GPU and non-GPU i.e. timeline playback with effects.
     
  17. skylabimaging

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    I don't think I understand what you're saying. You never said that scrubbing was "crap." The way you worded your statement made me think that you were implying that you can scrub through 4k i1 footage on gtx470 and it slows down when you add an accelerated effect, which is a given with any video timeline, 720p/1080p/4k

    When you compare prores and i1 footage, the way you said it made me think that you saw no difference between the 2 when playing back, scrubbing, cutting, whatever....which prores is fine for playback on most systems.

    At the end you said "no need for latest and greatest" which isn't true, a 980gtx will eat 4k for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
     
    Outta Control and damoncooper like this.
  18. Outta Control

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Right Above You
    ^^^
    I approve this message. A gtx980 will a great video/gamer card but am no gamer so thus why I went with a pro model graphics card.
     
  19. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    I did, but I now notice it was actually on another thread where someone complained about Premiere Pro scrubbing performance. I compared 3 machines of various age/performance, one of them having an i7-5960X and GTX970 and the other being 5 years old, and I1 4K scrubbing performance was as bad with all of them. My post in this thread only related to GPU/Non-GPU comparison for playback as my previous tests showed no difference for scrubbing I1 footage.