Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

X5R Flickering...Uh Oh

Discussion in 'Zenmuse X5R' started by Luke Neumann, Apr 15, 2016.

  1. Luke Neumann

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    40
    Anyone else experienced it yet? ISO 100 looking at the sunset over the Pacific Ocean. Will post a video shortly. Say it ain't so...it's pretty bad. X5 bad.
     
  2. Luke Neumann

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    40
    Update. It's an Adobe Camera RAW issue. Setting the shot to "Camera Raw Defaults" gets rid of it. Then I brought back individual adjustments one at a time to see if it caused the flickering. White balance, no. Contrast down...yes. This is either strictly an Adobe problem or it's something DJI and Adobe need to iron out together. I remember something similar when dealing with Canon 5D Mark III/ML Raw files too.

    So at this point:

    AE CC2014 - Adobe Camera Raw contrast adjustments cause flickering. I'm assuming other adjustments cause it as well. White Balance seemed OK.

    AE CC2015 - Seems to be OK all around. White balance and contrast/exposure changes made with no flickering.

    This leads me to believe that Premiere Pro CC 2014 will have issues as well. Can anyone confirm? Anyone else seeing this in AE CC 2014 with Contrast adjustments?
     
    #2 Luke Neumann, Apr 15, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2016
  3. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,455
    Likes Received:
    1,624
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I only use PP CC (2015) but have zero flicker with my X5R footage.
     
  4. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,455
    Likes Received:
    1,624
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I might suggest a topic rename, as there's no issue with X5R footage flicker itself.
     
  5. xzoticskillz

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    108
    I'm actually experiencing that same issue, its more of an exposure flicker (subtle, but its there)..... I'm seeing this both in my exported cinemaDNG raw files as well as my h.264 proxies. It seems as if my settings were on auto exposure but that wasn't the case, I always had the settings on full manual. Are there defective units out there?
     
  6. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,455
    Likes Received:
    1,624
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Check that you aren't using S or A modes. There's a lot of hunting that goes on in either mode. Use M only for video.

    Definitely turn off auto exposure and AWB when taking video.
     
  7. Brendan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    36
    I had an interesting mess around with the X5R at night last night to push the low light. I was extremely worried at first in my test samples as it appeared to flicker under the lights. Just out of chance the flickering 100% went when I changed the frame rate :) I think it is the pulsing in the lights mixing with the 180 degree shutter? All
    I know is once I set the shutter at night time to the frame rate, there was zero flickering (eg 4K 24fps (shutter same/close). When I had the shutter at double, that's when I saw the flickering. There was no flickering in shadows also.
     
  8. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    This is what the anti flicker option is for within the app.
    It is caused by the line frequency of lighting out of phase with the cameras frame rate.
    Set the anti flicker to your local line frequency or try Auto.
     
    #8 The Editor, Apr 30, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2016
    iswimmer, damoncooper and Brendan like this.
  9. Brendan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    36
    That's excellent, learn something new every day.
     
  10. Luke Neumann

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    40
    Noticing it at random now. Nothing to do with shutter speed or lighting. Seems to mostly show up in 4K/24 and almost never in UHD/30. Although I have shot stuff in 4K/24 that doesn't flicker.
     
  11. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    My answer to post #7 was explaining the anti-flicker setting which is for combatting flicker caused by line frequency out of phase with shutter rate.
    What you are experiencing is to do with the fact DJI are clueless when it comes to codecs and the interplay between Intra-frame, GOP structure, and bit rate.
    They also (in an effort to make the camera appear better than it actually is) use a dynamic knee point which floats around all over the place!
     
    ianwood and Quadpilot like this.
  12. Quadpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    Chaska, MN
    I'm old enough to feel the need to inquire as to where one can purchase this dynamic knee point, as my left knee has been giving me all sorts of trouble. ;)

    Seriously, though, for those of us not initiated in the higher levels of the video conspiracy that is the "Society for Producing Useless Nerdy Codecs," otherwise known as SPUNC, can you shed some light on this aspect of H.264 coding that has many of us baffled? That is, if your membership oath does not promise instant death if such knowledge is revealed to the uninitiated. :eek:
     
    Dr. Ifly Drones likes this.
  13. Brendan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    36
    I haven't seen the flickering yet luckily, hope DJI are looking at this for the next firmware update
     
  14. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,455
    Likes Received:
    1,624
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Nothing here either
     
  15. xzoticskillz

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    108
    Yup, confirmed. The flickering is a direct result from using CameraRAW (Adobe AE 2015 CC). This really sucks as cameraw is loads better than lumetri in Premiere......hopefully gets this resolved.
     
  16. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,455
    Likes Received:
    1,624
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Confirmed how? I have no flickering and I am using PP latest
     
  17. Luke Neumann

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    40
    Confirmed because many people are confirming it...
     
  18. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,455
    Likes Received:
    1,624
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    How can I try to reproduce? I have an X5R and PP 2015.
     
  19. Quadpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    Chaska, MN
    One of you is talking about After Effects Camera RAW (Luke) and one of you is mentioning Premiere Pro (Damon). I haven't used AE to process my X5R files, but I have not seen any flicker in Premiere Pro 2015 CC. I can see the point in using AE Camera RAW to grade easier, especially for those more used to the still photography side of things, but if it introduces flicker, why bother?
     
  20. Luke Neumann

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    40
    It's been fairly random for me, honestly. Seems like the only consistincy in it is 4K/24. I haven't noticed a single frame when shooting UHD/30. Even then, not all 4K/24 has been flickering either.

    AE is much more fluid for heavy grading than PP, not sure too many people use it for Photography as its not really optimized for it. Also, PP and AE both use the same version of Camera RAW so it would have to be something on the AE side of things (if that is indeed the culprit here)