Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Inspire X3 not compatible with OSMO handle

Discussion in 'Osmo (Handheld Gimbal)' started by Machoman, Nov 3, 2015.

  1. Machoman

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    69
    Just got this notice popupwhen I started DJI GO.
     
  2. pgale

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    7
  3. ovisopa

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    19
    Me too, I wanted to write also about this as I'm about to purchase the handle.

    Is compatible or isn't ?

    Is there anyone around to receive the handle only ?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. pgale

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    7
    I see from the announcement on the DJI forum that a firmware update is needed and it's being worked on.

    Some people seem to be panicing and saying it's not compatible full stop. Which is not true.

    As long as they get the firmware out before the handle only kit ships - which Marionville models say will be towards end of Nov, we should be OK.

    Of course, it will be an issue if they don't get firmware out for then!
     
    Kilrah, Auspete and Kenneth Sands like this.
  5. Mazz

    Mazz Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    585
    Location:
    NY
    So am I understanding correctly in that there are two different versions of the X3? One that ONLY works with the Awsome-O and one that ONLY works with the Inspire? dats nuts.
     
  6. pgale

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes there are two versions of the X3 - the OSMO version has gimbal locks and the lens is setup slightly different to focus closer than the I1 X3 (as it's designed to focus mostly on closer objects). Case colour is also different.
     
    Kenneth Sands likes this.
  7. Arsh

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    South Florida
    Straight from the OSMO Manual
    "The Osmo is compatible with the Zenmuse X3 Gimbal and Camera that comes with the Inspire 1. Be sure to upgrade the Zenmuse X3 with the latest firmware (to be released soon after this manual) before mounting it onto the Osmo handle."

    My handle is supposed to ship out on 11/24, on or around that time we should expect the firmware.
     
    Kenneth Sands likes this.
  8. jon b

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Chicago
    Have a handle only on order as well. We shall see soon enough
     
  9. CaptainBadge

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    240
    awesom-o.jpg
     
    gruvpix and Arsh like this.
  10. JayBurd

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    41
    Another thread states that the handle only will ship around Thanksgiving, collaborating the end of November time frame for the firmware release.
     
  11. Kauaigene

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    96
    Why can't DJI hire somebody to fix this continuing debacle with their inability to deliver things without so many fups?
     
  12. jackdakota

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    My Osmo was working fine until I tried to use Inspire X3 on it. It was beeping the same way it would if it was updating the firmware but I didn't choose to update the Osmo firmware when I was prompted. I let it sit for 10min beeping. Now, Osmo doesn't turn on anymore with either its X3 or Inspire X3. You can hear the hum but no movement or green light indicator on the handle. It's still broadcasting wifi I'd and the Go App thinks that it's connected to a Phantom.

    Now the Inspire X3 view is upside down when it's connected to the Inspire. I got my Osmo last Monday. I had the latest firmware file as of last Monday on the memory card in the Inspire X3. Contacted DJI and they said they'll look into it which probably means absolutely nothing having dealt with them in the past.

    SHORT VERSION

    Put Inspire X3 on Osmo.
    Osmo doesn't turn on anymore with either gimbals.
    Inspire X3 now shows upside down view on the Inspire.
     
  13. badbiggz

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    17
    Put the i1 x3 back on the Osmo and hold it up side down then turn it on wait 10 sec or so then put the x3 back on i1...should b back flipped
     
  14. trevor king

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    8
    Me to ( got poput notice on dji go app "osmo handle not compatible with inspire 1 camera")
    Just when i was about to order the handle only
    what kind of a company is this?
    yes it can, no it can't , maybe it will, maybe it won't

    we need some COMPETITORS so as to to wake dji up

    I want to buy a matrice 100 but won't because they don't sell it for existing inspire 1 owners who already have 2 remotes, why the hell would i need 4 remotes at £500 each (they are all identical remotes.) my DX8 and DX9 have multiple aircraft control why can't Dji have the same? oh yeah more $$$$$-£££££££'s
     
    #14 trevor king, Nov 3, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2015
  15. RStone53

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    I too made the mistake of putting my I1 X3 on my new Osmo. When I realized it wouldn't work without a firmware update that's supposed to be released in the future, I powered down the Osmo and reinstalled the X3 back on my I1. The DJI Go display is now upside down when connected to the I1. I did think of putting the I1 camera back on the Osmo and turning it upside down, but now I am very hesitant to try that, since it might screw things up even worse on either my I1 or Osmo. Badbiggz, have you actually tried this fix yourself and it worked successfully?
     
  16. badbiggz

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    17
    I had the same issue...it works
     
  17. RStone53

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the quick response... one more question. Does the DJI Go app need to be connected to the Osmo via wireless for this to work?
     
  18. badbiggz

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    17
    No just put the i1x3 on it turn it on wait 3 to 5 sec then put back on i1 and all will b normal...glad to help u and others out
     
  19. RStone53

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Done! Worked great, Osmo and I1 camera view all back to normal. Thank you!
     
    badbiggz likes this.
  20. Auspete

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    25
    I don't think they will start shipping the "handle only" orders until they have the firmware ready. They must have thousands of "handle only" orders sitting there, so the pressure will be on them to get the firmware done so that they can get their $$. They haven't taken the $$ off my credit card yet - which I guess is a good thing - order placed 15th Oct
    Originally we were all grumbling that there was no "handle only" available when OSMO was released. Maybe they made the handle only orders available a bit too soon (to appease I1 owners) - and the firmware upgrade is taking longer.
    All frustrating but as they say - patience is a virtue - and I'm sure it will be worth waiting for in the end.